Watercolour with pen and ink, originally for ‘This is Hong Kong’ (1965). Named after the 10th Governor of Hong Kong, Sir George William Des Voeux. The first single-deck trams were introduced to Hong Kong, after being built in the UK, in 1904; double decker trams were introduced in 1912, but enclosed double-decker trams, as here, were introduced in 1925. They soon acquired the nick name ‘ding ding trams’ – a reference to the bells they used to warn traffic and pedestrians alike of their approach. When these bells were replaced by beepers in 2000, such was the outcry at the loss of the ding dings that they were quickly re-introduced, and Hong Kong to this day boasts ding ding trams.